2025-2026 NOTICE OF INTENT TO HOME SCHOOL INFORMATION

Arkansas Department of Education - Division of Elementary and Secondary Education Home School Office: (501) 683-3162

Arkansas law requires parents who wish to home school their children to file a **Notice of Intent (NOI)** to home school with their local school superintendent by **August 15th of each year**. After this deadline, unless waived by the superintendent or local school district board, the public school may require a 5-day waiting period before releasing a student to be homeschooled.

Beginning June 1, 2025, parents will be able to submit a Notice of Intent for the 2025-2026 school year. Parents have two options for submission:

- 1. Paper forms may be completed and turned in at your resident school district. Forms are available at your resident school district or may be printed from the DESE website: https://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/Offices/office-of-school-choice-and-parent-empowerment/home-schools. Click on "Notice of Intent" on the left-hand side. It is recommended that you make a copy for your records prior to submitting it. If you need assistance with a paper form, please contact the superintendent's office of your resident school district and ask to speak with the home school coordinator.
- Electronic forms may be submitted through our online system: <u>https://noihs.ade.arkansas.gov</u>. If you submitted an electronic form last school year, you can log into your existing account and submit an updated form for this year. If you need assistance with the electronic system, please contact the state Home School Office at (501) 683-3162.

Changes During the School Year: Notify your resident school district's superintendent if your address changes and/or if you stop homeschooling. If you move and your new residence is in a different school district; you shall provide written notice to the superintendent of the new district within 30 days.

Optional Notary Section: It is <u>NOT</u> necessary to have this form notarized for submission to the resident school district. This section is provided in case a notarized copy of this form is needed by the parents or student(s) for another purpose, such as seeking the GED.

Driver's License: Guidelines for receiving an Arkansas driver's license changed in 2020. Home school students no longer have to present a notarized copy of their current-year NOI to take the driver's test. Please consult the websites for the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) – Office of Driver Services or the Arkansas State Police for current requirements. You may also contact your local DFA Revenue Office.

College & Career Readiness Testing: Home school students may participate in the <u>one-time, state-funded</u> PSAT (10th grade only) or ACT (11th grade only) test. Advanced Placement (AP) exams are also available, but please note that a <u>fee may apply</u>. Participation is optional. By selecting a test on the form, you are consenting to allow your student's name, grade level, and testing choice to be shared to process <u>this specific request only</u>.



2025-2026 NOTICE OF INTENT TO HOME SCHOOL FORM

Arkansas Department of Education – Division of Elementary and Secondary Education | Home School Office

(501) 683-3162 | https://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/Offices/office-of-school-choice-and-parent-empowerment/home-schools

Please write neatly.

I hereby give notice to the Superintendent at my resident school district of my intent to provide home school instruction for my child(ren).

| School District: | | County: | Start Date: |
|-----------------------------------|-------------------|--|-----------------|
| Name of Parent or Legal Guardian: | | | |
| Address: | | _City: | State:ZIP Code: |
| Telephone Number: | Email (optional): | 9-digit SSN (for EFA participants only): | |

| Legal Name of Student | | Student Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) | Gender (M/F) | 25-26 Grade Level (K-12) | Name and Address of Last School Attended | |
|-----------------------|--------|---------------------------------------|-----------------|--------------------------------|--|--|
| First | Middle | Last | (1111/00/9999) | | | |
| | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | |

Arkansas state law provides ways for homeschool students to participate voluntarily in various activities through the public schools, including sports and other interscholastic activities and certain tests. If you would like your child(ren) to participate in any of the following activities during the 2025-26 school year, please check the boxes below.

| Public School Interscholastic Activities: | If your student will pursue a GED: | | | |
|---|--|--|--|--|
| Test Options | | | | |
| One-time, state funded PSAT (10 th grade students only): | One-time, state funded ACT (11 th grade students only): | | | |
| Advanced Placement Exams: | ATLAS Test: 🗆 | | | |

By selecting a test on this form, you are consenting to allow your student's information to be shared for the purpose of registering for the test with the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) staff, the local public school district, and the selected testing company. Information will not be shared for any purpose other than the processing of the specific test requested on this NOI.

By signing this document, I agree that as the parent or legal guardian, I am responsible for the education of my children during the time for which homeschool instruction is provided.

Signature of Parent or Legal Guardian: _____

Date:

OPTIONAL: It is **NOT** necessary to have this form notarized for submission to the resident school district. This section is provided solely for the benefit of the parent/guardian in case a notarized copy of this form is needed for another purpose.

Notary Seal

Student Name (printed)