Arkansas Department of Education Division of Elementary and Secondary Education Innovation in Computer Science School Grant Program - Winners Announced

Memo Information

Memo Number
Memo Date
Memo Type
Central Administration
Regulatory Authority
Response Required
Federal Programs; Superintendents; Assistant Superintendent; Principals; Technology Coordinators; Test Coordinators; General Business Managers; Teachers; Gifted & Talented Coordinators; Curriculum Coordinators; Bookkeepers; School Counselors; Techstart Coordinators or Contact Name; Equity Coordinators (Disability/Race/Gender/National Origin); Child Nutrition Directors/Managers; Data Stewards (SIS; eSchool; eFinance; TRIAND); District Coordinators (ALE; Homeless; ESOL; SDFS & Foster); Parent Involvement Coordinators/Facilitators

Primary Contact Information

Memo Reference

No references available.

Memo Text

The Arkansas Department of Education Office of Computer Science is pleased to announce the winners of our Innovation in Computer Science School Grant Program announced via Commissioner’s Memo COM-19-030 on September 11, 2018. These 15 schools were selected based on proposals that indicated efforts to expand their computer science program and implement innovative best practices and will each receive grants totaling $241,798.43 from the Arkansas Department of Education.

The recipients listed below can use the funds to cover the expenses associated with purchasing curriculum, software licenses, and non-fundamental equipment, and provide professional development or student incentives, as outlined in their submitted budgets.

  • Fort Smith School District: $24,800.00
  • Genoa Central School District: $19,943.00
  • Greenland School District: $24,949.65
  • Harrisburg Elementary School (Harrisburg School District): $19,871.40
  • Jacksonville North Pulaski School District: $6,845.50
  • Kirby School District: $5,605.17
  • Lake Hamilton School District: $23,368.25
  • Lakeside School District (Hot Springs): $7,137.92
  • Little Rock School District: $7,000.00
  • Manila High School (Manila School District): $12,139.52
  • Monticello High School (Monticello School District): $20,000.00
  • Ouachita River School District: $5,201.02
  • Parkers Chapel School District: $19,937.00
  • Springdale School District: $25,000.00
  • Westside High School (Westside Consolidated School District): $20,000.00

Computer Science Education Week

December 3-9, 2018, is Computer Science Education Week. Arkansas will release a new computer science-related announcement each day. For a full listing of announcements as they are made, please visit the ADE Computer Science webpages at



No attachments available

Print Memo

Share this memo