Arkansas Department of Education Division of Elementary and Secondary Education Southeastern States Pupil Transportation Scholarships

Memo Information

Memo Number
Memo Date
Memo Type
Facilities & Transportation
Regulatory Authority
Response Required
Superintendents; Assistant Superintendent; Principals

Primary Contact Information

Memo Text

Superintendents, please provide a copy of this memo and the attachments to the transportation managers/directors and request they sign up for Commissioner's Memo notifications for all future messages.


The Southeastern States Pupil Transportation Conference (SESPTC) is a Virginia non-profit corporation created over 65 years ago to host an annual conference focused on educating student transportation professionals working in the southeast.  The member southeastern states are Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.  The conference has been held annually since 1951.  Over the last few years with the support of industry vendors, SESPTC has accumulated funds which the SESPTC Board of Directors has decided to disburse in the form of student education scholarships.  This year the SESPTC Board has approved the award of one $2,500 scholarship to a deserving student in each of the 14 southeastern states.  The scholarship funds must be used to cover education expenses at a post-secondary educational institution and will be paid to the institution in support of a student’s 2019-2020 school year expenses.


The enclosed scholarship documents provide additional information about the scholarship, including parent and student qualifications, the application form, required supporting documentation, and the selection process to determine deserving students.  To qualify, a parent/guardian family must have a gross taxable income equal to or less than $80,000 for each of the past three tax years.  A parent/guardian of the student must have been actively employed in public school transportation for the past three years.  A student qualifies by graduating from a public high school and then attending a post-secondary educational institution in 2019.  The $2,500 scholarship can be used for any part of the student’s 2019-2020 school year tuition, books, or fees.  To assure that all eligible students have an opportunity to apply for this scholarship, please help distribute this information to the transportation staff and high school counselors.  Eligible applicants include any of the following: State of Arkansas public school district transportation staff: including bus drivers, contracted bus drivers, bus aides/monitors, bus mechanics, directors of student transportation services, bus supervisors, bus driver trainers, bus safety inspectors, and any other public school bus transportation position employed by a public school district, a state school, or the transportation section of the Arkansas Department of Education.


Applications must be post marked no later than April 22, 2019.  Applications should be addressed to:


     SESPTC Scholarship Committee

     c/o Jerry Owens, Sr. Transportation Manager

     Arkansas Division of Public School Academic

     Facilities and Transportation

     One Capitol Mall, Suite 4D-200

     Little Rock, AR  72201



Print Memo

Share this memo