Arkansas Department of Education Division of Elementary and Secondary Education Cohort 5 Professional Learning Communities Announcement

Memo Information

Memo Number
Memo Date
Memo Type
Central Administration
Regulatory Authority
Response Required
Federal Programs; Superintendents; Assistant Superintendent; Principals; Technology Coordinators; Test Coordinators; General Business Managers; Teachers; Gifted & Talented Coordinators; Curriculum Coordinators; Bookkeepers; School Counselors; Techstart Coordinators or Contact Name; Equity Coordinators (Disability/Race/Gender/National Origin); Child Nutrition Directors/Managers; Data Stewards (SIS; eSchool; eFinance; TRIAND); District Coordinators (ALE; Homeless; ESOL; SDFS & Foster); Parent Involvement Coordinators/Facilitators; CTE Coordinator (COOPs and regular school districts); Facilities / Maintenance Director

Primary Contact Information

Memo Reference

No references available.

Memo Text

The Arkansas Department of Education is pleased to announce the selection of the fifth cohort of Professional Learning Communities at Work® Project.  The first cohort of schools began in 2017.  Within the first four cohorts, nine schools and one district have achieved national recognition as a Model PLC School through All Things PLC.   The fifth cohort are as follows:


  • Arkansas High School, Texarkana School District
  • Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School, Little Rock School District
  • Camden Fairview Middle School, Camden Fairview School District
  • Glenview Elementary School, North Little Rock School District
  • Hellstern Middle School, Springdale School District
  • Howard Elementary School, Fort Smith School District
  • Lake Hamilton Middle School, Lake Hamilton School District
  • Leverett Elementary School, Fayetteville School District
  • Magazine School District
  • Meekins Middle School, Stuttgart School District
  • Oaklawn STEM Magnet School, Hot Springs School District
  • Parson Hills Elementary School, Springdale School District
  • Searcy County School District
  • University Heights Elementary School, Nettleton School District
  • Washington Elementary School, Little Rock School District



To learn more about the project please visit the Professional Learning Communities in Arkansas link on the DESE website.


To view and share the journeys of cohorts of schools, please use the Twitter hashtag #PLC4AR. 


No attachments available

Print Memo

Share this memo