Arkansas Department of Education Division of Elementary and Secondary Education Innovation in Computer Science School Grant Program for 2020/2021 - Winners Announcement

Memo Information

Memo Number
Memo Date
Memo Type
Central Administration
Regulatory Authority
Response Required
Federal Programs; Superintendents; Assistant Superintendent; Principals; Technology Coordinators; Test Coordinators; General Business Managers; Teachers; Gifted & Talented Coordinators; Curriculum Coordinators; Bookkeepers; School Counselors; Techstart Coordinators or Contact Name; Equity Coordinators (Disability/Race/Gender/National Origin); Data Stewards (SIS; eSchool; eFinance; TRIAND); District Coordinators (ALE; Homeless; ESOL; SDFS & Foster); Parent Involvement Coordinators/Facilitators; CTE Coordinator (COOPs and regular school districts); Facilities / Maintenance Director

Primary Contact Information

Secondary Contact/s Information

Memo Text

The Arkansas Department of Education Office of Computer Science is pleased to announce the winners of our Innovation in Computer Science School Grant Program announced via Commissioner’s Memo COM-21-055 on December 10, 2020  The following 16 schools were selected from a total of 30 applicants, based on proposals that indicated efforts to expand their computer science program and implement innovative best practices and will each receive grants totaling $207,722.94 from the Arkansas Department of Education Office of Computer Science.

  • Beryl Henry Elementary in Hope - $24,856.00
  • Yellville-Summit High School in Yellville - $24,050.00
  • Rose Bud High School in Rose Bud - $22,560.89
  • Greenbrier Junior High School in Greenbrier - $19,877.00
  • Harrison High School Conversion Charter in Harrison - $19,650.00
  • Bauxite High School in Bauxite - $19,311.00
  • Elkins High School in Elkins - $19,178.43
  • Fouke Elementary School & Paulette Smith Middle School in Fouke - $12,826.67
  • Mineral Springs High School & Elementary School in Mineral Springs - $10,829.73
  • Arkansas Virtual Academy Elementary and Middle School in Little Rock - $8,000.00
  • Carlisle High School in Carlisle - $7,496.32
  • Harrisburg High School in Harrisburg - $6,754.32
  • Westside High School in Jonesboro - $5,715.00
  • Perryville High School in Perryville - $3,719.38
  • Valley View Public Schools in Jonesboro - $2,549.20
  • Magnet Cove Middle School in Malvern - $349.00 
The listed recipients will use the funds to cover the expenses associated with purchasing curriculum, software licenses, and non-fundamental equipment, and provide professional development or student incentives, as outlined in their submitted budgets. Final awards are subject to grant performance and the approval of the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education.


Print Memo

Share this memo