Arkansas Department of Education Division of Elementary and Secondary Education Arkansas State UpSkill Computer Science and Computing Course Pathway and Program

Memo Information

Memo Number
Memo Date
Memo Type
Central Administration
Regulatory Authority
Response Required
Superintendents; Assistant Superintendent; Principals; General Business Managers; Gifted & Talented Coordinators; Curriculum Coordinators; Bookkeepers; School Counselors; Techstart Coordinators or Contact Name; Equity Coordinators (Disability/Race/Gender/National Origin); Data Stewards (SIS; eSchool; eFinance; TRIAND); District Coordinators (ALE; Homeless; ESOL; SDFS & Foster); CTE Coordinator (COOPs and regular school districts)

Primary Contact Information

Secondary Contact/s Information

Memo Reference

No references available.

Memo Text

The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) Office of Computer Science is pleased to announce the continuation of our partnership with the Arkansas Public School Resource Center (APSRC) and Arkansas State University (AState) to deliver high quality computer science and computing concurrent credit courses through AState’s UpSkill program. 

UpSkill is an online learning opportunity administered by AState for high school students who wish to develop a variety of in-demand job skills. This program offers students an affordable, flexible, and convenient learning experience to develop skills that expand their future opportunities in a growing digital world.

For the 2022-2023 school year, AState UpSkill will again offer three computer science and computing pathways: Swift Coding, Android Development, and Game Production & Development. These pathways will be available for students in the Fall of 2022. Additional information and registration directions can be accessed at: 

The ADE Office of Computer Science is providing funding to APSRC to cover the enrollment and tuition fees for up to 250 high school students accepted into the UpSkill program for the 2022-2023 school year. Schools interested in participating in this grant program must complete a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Arkansas Public School Resource Center no later than August 5, 2022. For more information, including how to obtain or submit the MOU, please contact Joie Ketcham at or at 501-492-4300. Once the MOU is completed, a school representative (school counselor or other designee) will need to help the student complete AState’s application for admission.

Each program will be taught online in seven-week increments. Students will receive nine college credit hours upon successful completion of any of the three programs. The ADE has approved all nine of these concurrent credit courses to be eligible for weighted concurrent credit in computer science. Schools enrolling students in these courses may use any combination of the following course codes for the nine courses: 565810, 565820, 565830, 565840, 565850, 565860, 565870, 565880, 565890. 


Grant funding for this program is provided by the ADE as part of Governor Asa Hutchinson’s Computer Science Initiative and is subject to the availability of funding and allowable appropriation of funds.


Print Memo

Share this memo