Arkansas Department of Education Division of Elementary and Secondary Education 2024-2025 Special Education Resource Teacher Academy Announcement and Registration Information

Memo Information

Memo Number
Memo Date
Memo Type
Federal Programs
Regulatory Authority
Response Required
Assistant Principal; Assistant Superintendent; Curriculum Coordinators; Federal Programs; General Business Managers; Principals; School Counselors; Superintendents; Teachers; Techstart Coordinators or Contact Name; Test Coordinators

Primary Contact Information

Secondary Contact/s Information

Memo Text

Invitation to Arkansas Educators:

The Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) invites Arkansas educators to apply to one of the Special Education Resource Teacher Academies. The purpose of the Special Education Resource Teacher Academies is to provide currently licensed public school educators in Elementary K-6, 4-8, or 7-12 ELA, Math, or Science the opportunity to earn an additional Special Education Resource Endorsement and participate in job-embedded professional development while receiving graduate school credit hours, at no cost to them.

Additionally, educators obtaining this endorsement will be equipped to provide instruction within general education classrooms or offer pull-out supplementary services. This will expand the district’s ability to consider and offer a variety of special education service delivery models. With the growing emphasis on meaningful access to core instruction for students with disabilities, this opportunity will assist in providing Arkansas school districts with the skilled staff needed to lead the nation in student-focused education.

All of the programs:
Include 12-15 hours of graduate coursework
Lead to a Special Education Resource Teacher Endorsement
Include some summer instruction to prepare teachers for the fall 2024 semester
Include ongoing supports throughout the school year
Are designed for completion of the Academy in one year
Tuition, fees, and assessments are covered

School districts are encouraged to think strategically about their current special education services and how this opportunity could open the door to better services for all students. DESE is partnering with Arkansas State University in Jonesboro, Harding University in Searcy, Henderson State University in Arkadelphia, John Brown University in Siloam Springs, the University of Central Arkansas in Conway, the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, and the University of Arkansas in Monticello to offer the Academy.

Applicants will apply directly to the Academy. Informational flyers and links to the universities’ applications are found here.


Print Memo

Share this memo